Introduction: Start Here!

Hi! I’m Stephanie Johnson, second year teacher, book connoisseur, beginning gardener, and outdoor enthusiast.  Venturing into year two of my teaching career, I’ve been searching for ways to get my 7th grade students more excited about reading.   Thinking back over my first year of teaching, the two most common questions my students asked me came to mind: What’s for lunch? and, Are we using the computers today? Aha!

This blog will hopefully help me accomplish several things.  First of all, I’d like to use it to share with students (especially at-risk readers), parents, and other members of the educational community some excellent pieces of literature.  So many books are out there that it can be difficult to sift through them all to find one you will really enjoy.  My goal is that one of the books I blog about will pique your interest and encourage you to crack it open.  Secondly, I’d like to provide a platform to encourage conversation about the books my students and I read in class.  Blogging can provide a friendly format for those too shy to speak up in class and also allows readers to carry on discussions about books that we may run out of time for during the school day.  Parents/guardians can also check out our blog and see what their student (and others) thinks about our literature.  Finally, I’m looking forward to incorporating more technology into my classroom so that my students become more familiar and comfortable with it.  This blog will give us the chance to showcase our thinking for our readers, and to possibly connect with other students hundreds or thousands of miles away.  Happy reading!

DSC06609

My husband (Kyle), dog (Cash), and me in the Keweenaw Penninsula.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

